time (haibun)

I wake you up, don’t I? That’s what you accuse me of.

silence

splatters egg

on floor

No, I don’t need an introduction. I put all on you. You accuse me for everything that can’t be held by you. Buds, flowers, fruits, seeds, humus, plants– cyclic, isn’t it? And you claim me for it. ย You can’t understand yourself and are out to know me, me?

stars

river reflects

million years

You count, I see whether you reach up to me or not. Ever thought that I can be sitting eternally by your side? Ever thought that I’m a reflection, yes, reflection of everything seen and felt by you? No. For you, your life is real. But remember, I’m the elusive driver, driving your mind.

rains-

petrichor

returns

I return because I’ve never been away. Don’t blame you. You can’t see me as I’m. In parts you see, in parts you believe and in parts you differentiate. But, I’m all as one: no past, no present, no future. I’m as I’m, always: Time.


Note: A Haibun written as monologue in response to Linty’s prompt: Speak to me

 

61 comments

  1. I love it! Bloody brilliant.

    Now a question: does the story(which is connected and continued after each haiku) spin off of the last word of the haiku before the next part of the story?

    Just got myself confused with that question. Lol

  2. yes, can say so much more.

    oh wow, mou. My brother got a new pc, and I can actually type like a human again with a keyboard. Will be easier for me to write this way. Even if I do hunt and peck on the keyboard.

    lol.

    I am finishing up a haiku poetry combo for twitter. Just a poem then haiku but connected. With the idea of that something extra to express more. Inspired by haibun.

      1. Yes..I shall! Better to type on keyboard and see the whole page.,it’s easier and gives a bigger perspective than this tiny mobile screen

        Buzz!

      2. Yes, and yes. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Ps) just sent out million invitations for people to link to your WP page. Expect the new followers to roll in soon. ๐Ÿ˜‹

    1. lol it is really not good, I saw many people have more than 1000 followers but, having large number of followers is not what I really want because that would require me to devote more time to this blog which would be difficult for me.

      1. I know what you mean. I’m the same way with twitter. I preferred it when I had a few followers. On the beginning it was you and peter I talked to.

        Now it’s getting out of hand. I love the people I’m in contact with but keeping up the corrospondance , talking, reading their posts, etc. is too time consuming.

        I need to get back to reading and getting quiet and letting inspiration come from different sources.

        And want to spend more time here.

        Can’t imagine having over 1000 followers! Ahh! ๐Ÿ˜ง

        Hope your Saturday is good so far.

        Ms woofy!

      2. I know…just a few quality followers is all I’ve ever done in other blogging sites. Some people have a billion followers. How can they keep in touch with the population of a whole country? Lol.

        In real life I’m the same. Just a few quality friends. Am happy like that. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      3. That makes two “goods.” Good. Lol. Saturdays are good for me.

        It’s probably a generic thing sent to lots of people but this publishing company wants to use one of my poems. Just submit it and it may get get published in their quarterly.

      4. Eh, it’s probably just something sent out to everyone who posts anything. Could post, roses are red, violets are blue, this is a poem, tried and true. And they’d like it. Lol. I checked them out, though.

        And they are a legit poetry publishing group. They take poems and publish them. No money to give. No money received.
        Anyways, tomorrow will add to haibun.
        Some ideas for it.

        And finally some blog ideas! Just need to get off damn twitter and they come. Lol.

        Anything writings brewing in the brain of mou?

  3. er, this was brilliant. have you heard of chronophobia? anyway, I wish I could write like this. you must have to spend a lot of time choosing exactly the right words in such a condensed format…I also wish I knew more…anything, about forms of poetry. therefore, must learn…thanks for this, i will look forward to reading more of your pieces ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Time is an illusion, it is very much possible that everything is happening simultaneously at once in this universe but, we perceive it in parts like we can sense sound in between 20Hz and 20KHz. In case of time too, we perceive it in parts & not whole. I’ll write a post on it soon on why Time could be just an illusion. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. To my understanding, Time and Space are also construct. We can understand them as they are only if we get a single law connecting all laws of physics. For now, there’re physicists both for and against it.

      2. I can’t say because I don’t know both in their actual form ๐Ÿ™‚ See, I don’t know how to explain it but, our definitions are limited. Our physics is evolving and one day we’ll get an answer to it.

    1. Yes, I got that. In fact, the word “situated” itself is relative, so we can’t answer it till we get an understanding of the “whole”, by whole I mean the whole system of Universe and the single law that runs it. I think, we’ll get an answer to it may be within next few centuries or even in this century, who knows? ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. It’s not on time but, it suggests a few possibilities that would make one think about the real nature of space & how much we can go ahead to unravel it.

  4. Acute. Masterly. Brilliant. I couldn’t figure out the narrator till the end. Then I saw it was Time and I reread the whole thing three more times. Ingenious. Creative. Nonesuch.

Leave a Reply

